Kern Council of Governments was pleased to present its Twenty Ninth Annual Regional Awards of Merit Program, March 5, 2020. This special event provided Kern County residents the opportunity to thank and honor citizens, community-based organizations and public officials who have made, and are still making, significant contributions to this region’s quality of life. Those who were recognized are the impetus behind valuable programs and projects and have dedicated themselves to this area’s success.

The winners, divided among nine broad categories, are:

Local Government:

  • Mayor Peggy Breeden and Chief of Police Jed McLaughlin – Leadership during the July 2019 Ridgecrest Earthquakes

Community Involvement:

  • West Side Health Care District – New and Expanded Health Care Facility
  • Golden Empire Transit District – Food Distribution Program


  • City of Tehachapi – Educational Videos for the Power Safety Shutoffs


  • City of Taft – Downtown Revitalization with New Transit and Community Center
  • Golden Empire Transit District – Half-off-Pass (HOP)
  • City of Tehachapi – New Park & Ride Facility and Transit Center

Richard A. Maxwell Public Safety:

  • Bike Bakersfield – Bike/Pedestrian Safety Programs
  • Captain Diana Burnett – City of Shafter Police Department

Darrel Hildebrand Distinguished Leadership – Public Official, Elected Official, or Public Group/Individual:

  • Ron Hughes – CalVans
  • Mayor Dave Noerr – City of Taft

Ronald E. Brummett Lifetime Achievement – Public Official, Elected Official, or Private Citizen:

  • City Manager Alan Tandy – City of Bakersfield

Chairman’s Award of Regional Cooperation:

  • Mark Evans – Kern County Public Works

Copyright 2017 Kern COG - All rights reserved. Powered by Fluxar Studios • Powered by Fluxar Studios2