Each city in Kern County has one elected representative on the Kern Council of Governments (Kern COG) Board. The County of Kern Board of Supervisors has two members who serve on the Kern COG Board. There are also two ex-officio members who represent Caltrans and Golden Empire Transit District.

Following Board direction, staff coordinates between local, state, and federal agencies to avoid overlap or duplication of programs. This intergovernmental coordination enables staff to work with many public agencies to ensure that planning and implementation of programs proceed in a coordinated manner.



Arvin: Olivia Trujillo
Bakersfield: Bob Smith, Chair
California City: Jim Creighton
Delano: Veronica Vasquez
Maricopa: John Crump
McFarland: Saul Ayon
Ridgecrest: Kyle Blades
Shafter: Cathy Prout
Taft: Orchel Krier
Tehachapi: Philip A. Smith
Wasco: Gilberto Reyna
Kern County: Zack Scrivner and David Couch

Ex-Officio Members

Caltrans District 6: Michael Navarro
Caltrans District 9: Kirsten Helton
Golden Empire Transit: Cindy Parra
Joint Planning Policy Board: Malcolm Warney


Copyright 2017 Kern COG - All rights reserved. Powered by Fluxar Studios • Powered by Fluxar Studios2